How little language mistakes can cause you big embarrassment!

Choose the Right Words

How little language mistakes can cause you  big embarrassment!

Don’t YOU appreciate when people point out your  wrong word mistakes? – discreetly of course!

 french 60s

I am eternally grateful to a French waiter who corrected me about my French pronunciation and choosing a similar-sounding word – but the WRONG word!

I was working as a piano-vocalist  in an elegant fine dining restaurant.

I was singing songs in French and  I thought I was so  classy and cool and cosmopolitan .

In reality  – I was embarrassing myself to anyone who spoke French.

And it all came down to how I pronounced a vowel sound.

I was supposed to be singing “pourtant” (however or still)  but they way I pronounced it sounded like a  less formal French word that means “prostitute”. So in this elegant restaurant I am proudly singing “PROSTITUTE”.

I am very grateful to…

View original post 228 more words

Leave a Reply

